Patience is a virtue…

Sadly not one I possess in any great abundance!

I know what I want for my business, for my brand and I know I will achieve it. I can picture it, see it unfold, almost touch it, smell it if you will, it’s that real to me, I understand that I have to follow a journey and allow the business to grow in the right way but I want it now…

I sound like a petulant child in my own head and I have to keep reminding myself that I have come this far having taken time to make the right decisions (well, not all of them of course) at the right time for the right reasons. I have made mistakes and have learnt from them which is as it should be. I have taken a few risks (the recent debacle that was Yorkshire’s Magical Winterland comes instantly to mind), on the whole I have been following a steady path but I now find myself in uncharted territory…. I want to push ahead with something that I cannot legitimately with any concrete evidence, say will be the best thing for my business at this point in time, but in my heart, I know it is, I just know it and one day I will get the opportunity to prove it.

The quote ‘If your dreams do not scare you, they’re not big enough’ has been attributed to Ellen Johnson Sirleaf, and the concept that if, as a business, you’re not growing, you’re dying, which has been credited to many great business leaders and speakers, are maxims which I hold to be true. If any business is to grow to its full potential, leaps of faith and calculated risks need to be taken; to do nothing is to stand still and then pretty soon, to start to move backwards, to die, as everyone over takes you by changing and developing with the times. These thoughts are part of what bolsters my confidence that I am taking my business in the right direction, the other part is an inner confidence that is a very recent acquisition for me, one which just somehow inherently knows that I can do it and will do it.

For now I shall bide my time knowing that what is meant to be will happen when it’s the right time (with a significant amount of clever engineering and pre planning). I am booked in to attend a major trade event in April, the British Craft Trade Fair,  which I think will be my tipping point and bearing in mind how quickly January has flown by and February seems to be going the exact same way, April is not too long to wait to make some business changing decisions.

The ideas, plans and dreams that I have for Lubylu still scare me but I have to admit to being just a little bit excited about the challenges that lie ahead in achieving them.

One thought on “Patience is a virtue…

  1. You go girl! And the inner confidence that comes to us that bit later on in life is something that I think lots of us wish we’d had earlier. However, when you finally get it, all you can do is forge ahead and make up for lost time. So, the future will doubtlessly be exciting and the bigger the plans the better! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

