“I’m marvelous thanks, how are you?”

6 months ago when office colleagues asked me how I was as part of the usual morning greeting, that was my usual stock response. Said with either fake enthusiasm or very real sarcasm, some never could quite tell which, I felt that I should at least say positive words whether I meant them or not even if it was just wind people up!

Now when I say it, I mean it, I really do. It might sound trite but since leaving the corporate world I am much happier about work and basically life in general.

The transition to working from home is taking some adjusting to, more so than I expected if I’m honest. I used to work from home one day a week and found it to be a most productive day but when you’re at home all day (well it’s only school hours really but that’s a whole other blog post) every day it can be hard to focus on work rather than the household chores. I raised this with Mr P the other evening, who has worked from home for over 10 years now, and he says that at first it is tricky and that it takes some practice to be able to ignore the household chores while you’re meant to be working, but it would seem that this is an art he has perfected 😉

Whilst I do cherish being able to work from home and the fact that my business can be done at any time of day or night, I know I need to be careful that I don’t do just that, work all day and all night! I do love what I do and I think that even if it wasn’t the occupation that pays my bills, I would still be doing something creative but I know I need to be cautious not to become too blinkered. I love opportunities to leave the house, meet people, chat with them, see the ‘real’ world and use this to gain useful insights as to what the world is doing, what my customers and prospects want and where I can take my business.

At the moment ( I am only 4 months into this full time running a business malarkey) I am financially poorer than I was on a regular wage with paid sick, paid holidays, pension scheme etc… but I’m excited every day by the possibilities that lie ahead. Each day, even with my endless and detailed ‘to do’ lists, provides an opportunity for me to do my best and to develop my business my way. Money to fix the air bag squib on my car (who knew it one of those) eats into my budget more significantly and saving for holidays take more planning but we’re still having holidays and that’s no mean feat!

The financial uncertainty, the distraction by household necessities and even the price of an air bag squib eating into my savings are all welcome prices to pay to not suffer that ‘Sunday night dread’ that inevitably merges into Monday morning moroseness and just sets you up for an unfulfilled week of somebody else’s stress….  🙂

2 thoughts on ““I’m marvelous thanks, how are you?”

  1. Here. here to that! As with everything in life, there are certain sacrifices and adjustments to be made when you’re self-employed but, like you, I certainly think they’re worth it. Very high up on my list of ‘reasons to stay self-employed’ is also the fact that I can spend more time around people I actually want to instead of having to spend my days with people I am merely tolerating. A much more positive way of living, I can’t help but feel.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

