I am the very definition of success

Well, I am to me anyway. I defined my own criteria for what success means to me at the moment and I am achieving it, and that is what it’s all about!

I don’t drive a fancy car, we don’t live in a house with 5 bathrooms (which just means more to clean by the way), a swimming pool and we don’t take exotic holidays. I do however,  take my daughter to school everyday and collect her (unless she’s going to Grandma’s). I know the names of her BFF’s, her teachers and most of the parents’ names in the playground. I take her to dancing and tennis, we go shopping, we do homework together (maths is for her dad to help with, that’s not my strong point) and of course we do lots of crafty stuff. On top of all of that, I run a business that I love and never experience “Monday Morning Moroseness”.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m not saying that all of the above is necessary for success and happiness for everyone but it is what matters to me. When I decided to leave the corporate world the plan was to be able to build the business fast enough that I could pay myself a reasonable wage but slowly enough that I could still enjoy the years when Pipsqueak actually wants and needs me around and not just for lifts or cash!

I think too many people place too much emphasis on things that don’t matter, such as the cars, the holidays, the clothes and being seen out in the right places with the ‘right’ people. If that is what genuinely makes you happy then great, that’s wonderful, but deep down inside if these ‘things’ are not making you feel truly fulfilled, if you’re always looking over your shoulder for the next best thing to complete your life, stop, take time to work out what you really want to be doing.

Once you can picture what it is you want, it’s far easier to achieve it and it’s not a static, fixed situation either. Your success criteria today can be very different from those in the future, but by being realistic you stand a much better chance of achieving your goals.

I have great plans for Lubylu in the future and the work I do now is all geared towards where I want the business to be in 5 years, 10 years even 20 years time. I have some very specific goals and success criteria, one of which, I don’t mind admitting, is to be able to fly to New York, First Class, without worrying about the cost! I want to enjoy the experience for what it is and not begrudge the ticket price. I know this seems to go against what I’ve said before but I don’t want to be able to do it because other people are doing it, I want to do it as it’s always portrayed as such a wonderful way to fly and I really want to go to New York!

I think what I’m trying to say is that if you judge your own success by other peoples’ criteria you will almost always be disappointed and that in itself is an inhibitor to success. If you set your own realistic goals, dreams and aspirations you stand a much better chance of seeing yourself as a success and as such you will be much happier in a better mind set to achieve more!

Leave a Reply

